One Day remains for PSL

The waiting hours are over after one day, the PSL is starting tomorrow.

The eighth season of the Pakistan Super League (PSL), which will begin on February 13, is the most anticipated event on the Pakistani calendar (tomorrow).

At the Multan Cricket Stadium, the championship-defending and host Lahore Qalandars will square off against Multan Sultans, the 2021 tournament’s victors, and finalists.

The eighth season of the Pakistan Super League (PSL), which is expected to be just as thrilling as the previous seven, will also feature matches in Karachi, Lahore, and Rawalpindi.

The second game of the competition will take place in Karachi’s National Bank Cricket Arena, pitting the hosts, the Karachi Kings, against Peshawar Zalmi. The toss will take place at 7:30 pm, followed by the start of this game and the competition.

On February 15, Quetta Gladiators will kick off their season in Multan, and on February 16, Islamabad United will play their first game of the year in Karachi.

From February 26, the action will shift to the northern half of the nation, with Lahore and Rawalpindi serving as the host cities for the tournament’s last two rounds. Pakistan’s cricket home, the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore, will host the four semifinal matches, the championship game, five league games, and 11 matches in Rawalpindi.

In addition to taking home the Supernova Trophy, the winner of the March 19 final at the Gaddafi Stadium will also get a check for Rs120 million, with the runners-up receiving a check for Rs48 million.

A look at the winners

  • Winners to collect cheque of Rs120m while runners-up will receive Rs48m.
  • First match to be played at Multan Cricket Stadium.
  • Karachi, Lahore and Rawalpindi to also host matches. 

The fact that all six franchises have at least one PSL championship underlines the outstanding caliber of all six teams and the level of competitiveness in the league.

The only team to win the PSL championship twice is Islamabad United, the original champions (the second time in 2018). In 2017, Peshawar Zalmi took first place. The 2019 competition was won by Quetta Gladiators, who had advanced to the finals in the prior two iterations. When Karachi Kings defeated Lahore Qalandars in Karachi in 2020, they became the first team to win the championship at home. The Multan Sultans won their first championship in 2021. In Lahore last year, Qalandars exhibited the trophy.

Opening ceremony

The Pakistan Cricket Board has planned a magnificent opening ceremony before the PSL 8 action begins, keeping with tradition.

The PSL 8 anthem singers Abdullah Siddiqui, Asim Azhar, Faris Shafi, and Shae Gill will perform, and their performances will be one of the main draws for cricket fans in Multan and throughout the world.

In addition to the star-studded lineup, the audience will be treated to performances by famous music composer Sahir Ali Bagga and outstanding vocalist Aima Baig, making the opening ceremony a memorable event.

Captains get ready for competition.

Before the competition, Islamabad United skipper Shadab Khan recalled how the competition provided him the chance, conviction, and confidence to advance as a cricket player.

“The level of bowling is well above any other league in terms of quality and standard. This is not something I am stating, but rather it is something that the best PSL players have publicly stated. When the top cricket players in the world complement our league and its standards, it makes me very happy.

We hold the PSL, one of the top leagues in the world, with the highest regard. We prepare, plan, and set goals while waiting for this league for ten months. Then, we participate in this fantastic event to accomplish our shared goals, support the success of our teams, and the cycle keeps on, according to Karachi Kings captain Imad Wasim.

The Karachi Kings were handicapped by injuries the previous season, but in 2023, we have all bases covered with top-notch players who can all win games. The most crucial thing for us is to play T20 with a good mindset and aggressive intent, which is how it should be played.

Shaheen Afridi, the captain of the Lahore Qalandars, stated that he is eagerly anticipating the start of the PSL 8.

We had a fantastic season last year, and we credit our winning the PSL to our close-knit family unit. We lifted the trophy in 2022 after a lot of hard work and effort behind the scenes. Since defending the championship is a difficult task, we have worked even harder and come prepared this season. However, given the team I have, I am convinced that the PSL trophy will remain in Lahore.

The captain of the Multan Sultans, Mohammad Rizwan, stated that his team’s motto is to play as champions no matter the opposition or the result.

“We have been able to instill this mindset in the side because we are a close-knit side, and the team management deserves credit for this togetherness. The fact that we have a nice mix of coaches also aids me in leading the team.

Babar Azam, the new captain of Peshawar Zalmi, stated that the competitive aspect of the PSL makes every season fascinating for him. The players you share the Pakistani locker room with all year become your opponents, so it presents a new challenge every year.

He continued by saying that he is eager to get this adventure off to a successful start.

Sarfaraz Ahmed, the captain of the Quetta Gladiators, stated: “We haven’t been able to play to our full capacity in the previous two or three editions, but I am certain that 2023 will be the year we make amends and the Quetta Gladiators fans happy. The squad we have is strong and has the potential to win, and I’m thrilled to be back in the purple and gold and to be the captain of this outstanding team.

Tech Enthusiast writing to keep you posted with new trends in Technology world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.